BOTSWANA!

Even though my main country on this leg of the trip is SOUTH AFRICA, I was only there for about 48 hours before I began a tour that has taken me to BOTSWANA! On Monday morning, after a very early wake up, I was packed up and joined my group on an 11 day tour through Botswana, Victoria Falls in Zimbabwe, and Kruger Park in South Africa.

DAY 1: Johannesburg to Khama Rhino Sanctuary, Botswana

We drove from about 6:30am to 6:30pm from Johannesburg South Africa to the Khama Rhino Sanctuary in Botswana. I saw my first exciting animal at about 11am while we were driving through SA on a road with game parks lining either side. We saw two zebras! That got me so excited for the weeks ahead!

We made a few stops for fuel, food, and the toilet, and then arrived at camp! There were tents set up for us already so we didn’t have to pitch our own (bless!) our guide started on dinner and we helped/ bathed/ unpacked. We would only be here for one night.

We had a late dinner of spaghetti and greek salad which was DELICIOUS after a long day of travel. There was an optional game drive in the morning that Eleanor and I were interested in, while the other four in our group were unsure. It’s a smaller park and they were tired but my thinking was, THIS IS WHY WE’RE HERE! So I was going either way. It ended up the entire group signed up.

DAY 2: Khama Rhino Sanctuary to Elephant Sands, Botswana

Another very early wake up! Our guide picked us up at our campsite at 6am for our morning game drive. The weather was nice just standing around, but as we drove in our open vehicle, it got really chilly really fast. I was glad I have a fleece sweater, a jacket, and a blanket for my legs. On this drive we saw different kinds of antelope, zebras, white rhino, giraffes, ostriches, wildebeests, warthogs, and a few other littler animals. This park doesn’t have elephants and lions. The only rhino we missed was the black rhino, but they are harder to spot and are more rare (this park had 5).

DCIM102GOPRO

When we returned to camp, our guide David had prepared a bacon and egg breakfast for us. I had a mango that I picked up at the grocery store that was fantastic with breakfast! We packed up and drove north to Elephant Sands, still in Botswana.

I was a bit nervous because we didn’t have time for any activities at elephant sands, but once we arrived I realized they weren’t necessary! A stones throw away from the patio is the watering hole where elephants come to drink! When we arrived, there were four there lazing around, drinking, and splashing themselves. They were so close to us it was incredible! We camped where elephants could walk right between our tents, and were up at 4am to head to Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe!

IMG_5666

Leave a Reply

