Vega Reunion: NYC

One of the things I was excited about when I decided to come home from Israel early is that I would be able to attend the Camp Vega Reunion in New York City on Sunday November 9th. Getting back on September 5th, it was going to be a little bit tight, but these are the types of trips I love!

Saturday November 8th, since I was still jet lagged, I was able to go to bed at 6pm and my alarm went off at 11pm. I got ready and left just after midnight to drive two hours to Buffalo, where I would fly to NYC. I arrived at the airport three hours early. Security wasn’t even open yet. Since it was a domestic flight, three hours is way overkill but I prefer to be early than to be worried about being late.

I got to JFK at 7am and was in Manhattan by 8am. I stopped for breakfast then went to the reunion at 10:30am. It was in a cute little loft all painted white. As the girls started to arrive I got more and more excited! Five of my ten campers were there and it was so good to see them! I also got to hang out with some sub juniors and juniors from other bunks. We hung out, then watched the 2014 yearbook.

IMG_4884

Afterwards, several of the girls and their moms and I went out to lunch. It was fun to hang out with them! I realize how great it is at camp not having screens! The girls all had cell phones and iPads! So crazy (since they’re eight!)

From there I said goodbye (for now) and walked through Central Park. It was so beautiful in the fall! I went to Top of the Rock at Rockefeller Centre where there is a stunning view of the park on one side and the Empire State Building on the other side. I walked back towards Penn Station and had dinner, then took a shuttle back to JFK.

IMG_5070

I flew/ drove home and made it back by 2am. The whole time I was jamming to Beyonce’s live concert album to help keep me awake! It was a long day (26 hours!) but so fun.

Pamela

Leave a Reply

